Our members acknowledge special contributors to our organization with local and national awards. LMSC awards Volunteer of the Year and Most Inspirational Swimmer. The State Championship meet host also selects and gives a special award of their choice.

If you have an idea for LMSC awards, such as a coach, webmaster, club officer or someone who inspires you, contact your club rep or a board member with your idea. You can see that there are many volunteers to be recognized. Below is a link to our list of club representatives and a list of all the local and national MT LMSC award recipients.

Click here to see who your club representative is and contact them today.


LMSC Awards

2016    LMSC Volunteer of the Year: Ellen Parchen

2015    LMSC Volunteer of the Year: Rosanne Flann
LMSC Most Inspirational Swimmer: Charlotte Sanddal
Meet Host Ironman Award: Nicole Lindstrom


National Awards

Recipients of national awards are selected by the USMS Awars committee. Nominees for these awards come from across the nation. National awards include Swimming Coach of the Year, Kerry O’Brien Coaching Award, Club of the Year Award, June Krauser Communications Award, Fitness Award, National Championship Meets Award and the Open Water Service Award. You can find more information about these awards, past recipients and how to nominate someone by clicking here

Help identify initiative and performance by nominating people you know who fulfill the ideals of the these awards.

Read on for Montana LMSC members who have been honored.

U.S. Masters Swimming Dorothy Donnelly Service Award

The first USMS Service Awards were presented in 1997 by then President Mel Goldstein. In 2000 the award was named in honor of the original “voice” of USMS, Dorothy Donnelly. Up to 15 people are selected each year from nominations submitted by LMSCs, clubs and individuals. MT LMSC’s Dot Donnelly awardees include:

2014  Donn Livoni

2010 Ellen Parchen

2002 Jeanne Ensign

U.S. Masters Swimming Capt. Ransom J. Arthur M.D. Award

A national award in honor of U.S. Navy Captain Ransom J. Arthur, M.D., who, by his sacrifice, perseverance, and dedication to improving the health of adults through swimming, established the Masters Swimming program in the United States. This top USMS award is given annually to the person who has done the most to further the objectives of U.S. Masters Swimming. MT LMSC’s Ransom J. Arthur awardees include:

2007 Jeanne Ensign

U.S. Masters Swimming Kerry O’Brien Coaches Award

This award is names in honnor of Coach Kerry O’Brien of the Walnut Creek Masters. Each yar the Coaches Committee recognizes USMS coaches who are building our membership in communities throughout the country with this award. Recipients of this award embody the same passion, dedication, and heart that Coach Kerry O’Brien brought to the pool deck day in and day out. 

2021 Paul Landes

2014 Peggy Stringer

Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award

This award is named in honor of Ted Haartz, a leader in U.S. Masters Swimming since 1970. Ted helped establish the foundation for USMS’s evolution into a professionally-operated organization. The award celebrates our volunteer roots, as well as our future, specifically by recognizing one volunteer each year who demonstrates excellence in assisting and supporting the National Office staff with its professional duties of serving our members and promoting Masters Swimming.

2014 Jeanne Ensign